Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize, Belgium, 2017


Table of Contents

Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize for International Researchers in Belgium, 2017

The Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize is an international triennial scientific prize which will be awarded to a researcher or a research team for an original scientific study on the links between oceans and human health. A Dr Edouard Delcroix Incentive Award will reward the work of an early career scientist.

Aim of the Prize:

The aim of the Dr Edouard Delcroix Prizes is to foster fundamental and applied scientific research which makes a significant contribution to an improved understanding of the actual and potential health benefits from marine and coastal ecosystems, e.g. the “Blue Gym” effect, marine biodiscovery, thalassotherapy and functional revalidation in seawater; ? a reduction in the burden of human diseases linked to marine environmental causes, e.g. harmful algal blooms and other biogenic toxins, eutrophication, transmission of pathogens and chemical pollutants and the impacts of human activities such as aquaculture.

The international prizes are organised every three years. Candidates from all over the world can participate in the Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize. The Dr Edouard Delcroix Incentive Award is reserved for master’s students from member countries of the Council of Europe.


A sum of 25 000 EUR accompanies the Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize which may be split between the best scientific studies if there is an equality of votes. The Dr Edouard Delcroix Incentive Award has a value of 2 500 EUR. The jury has the right to withhold the prizes if it decides that none of the proposed studies can be taken into consideration.

Application Procedure:

To qualify, candidates need to submit the following documents to VLIZ:

  • eight copies of a written scientific report in Dutch, French or English prefaced with an abstract in English not exceeding three pages;
  • the completed participation form;
  • a curriculum vitae of the candidates.

The submission deadline for the next award is 31 December 2016.

Scholarship link