UK: Distance Learning Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

UK: Distance Learning Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

Table of Contents

UK: Distance Learning Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

 CSC/DFID Distance Learning Scholarships
Course(s) Offered: Approved Online Courses
Course Level: Graduate (masters)
Provider: CSC, DFID, UK Universities
Country to Study in: Any country
Scholarship Description
The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships offer students from developing Commonwealth countries the opportunity to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in their home country.Established in 2002, the scholarship scheme is part of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) and UK Department for International Development (DFID) commitment to exploring new methods of scholarship delivery.Rather than offering these scholarships directly to students, the CSC works with UK universities to identify appropriate courses and recruit candidates. To date, it has funded courses at over 20 UK institutions, awarding over 1,000 scholarships to students from across the developing Commonwealth.

 Commonwealth Young Professionals Programme

You must meet the specific eligibility requirements of the course you are interested in.

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

  • be Commonwealth citizens of a developing Commonwealth country, refugees or British protected persons
  • be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • normally hold a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, we will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships may not be held concurrently for more than one course.

Eligible groups
Nationals of Commonwealth Developing Countries:

  • AFRICA: Botswana, Cameroon, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe*
  • OTHER COUNTRIES: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Malaysia, Maldives, Montserrat, Nauru, Pakistan, , Pitcairn, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

* Awards offered to build the capacity of civil society organisations

Participating Institution(s)
All recognized UK Universities (see list in ‘Fields of study’)

Fields of study
Several approved Masters Courses are offered at participating schools.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are being offered in 2015/16 for the following Master’s courses. Full details of these courses and the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution:

  • Cardiff University: MSc in Palliative Medicine and Care (available to applicants from Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka only)
  • Bangor University: MSc Tropical Forestry
  • Leeds Beckett University: MSc Public Health Promotion (available to applicants from Ghana only)
  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • MSc Clinical Trials
    • MSc Epidemiology
    • MSc Global Health Policy
    • MSc Infectious Diseases
    • MSc Public Health
  • London South Bank University: MSc Education for Sustainability
  • Loughborough University: MSc Water and Environmental Management
  • Open University
    • MSc Development Management (available to applicants from Kenya and Uganda only)
    • MSc Environmental Management (available to applicants from Kenya only)
  • Royal Veterinary College: MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health
  • SOAS, University of London: MSc Poverty Reduction: Policy and Practice (available to applicants from Pakistan only)
  • UCL Institute of Education: MA Education and International Development (available to applicants from Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
  • University of Edinburgh
    • One Health, One Medicine programmes: MSc International Animal Health, MSc Global Health and Infectious Disease, MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health, MSc Conservation Medicine
    • Global Health: Innovation and Education: MSc Global Health: Non-Communicable Diseases, MSc Clinical Education, MSc Global Challenges, MSc Digital Education, MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine, MSc Global eHealth
  • University of Manchester: MPH Public Health and Primary Care (available to applicants from Nigeria and Tanzania only)
  • University of Nottingham
    • MA Education (Flexible) (available to applicants from southern India, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Tanzania, and Zambia only)
    • PGCEi Post Graduate Certificate of Education International (available to applicants from southern India, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Tanzania, and Zambia only)
  • University of Oxford: MSc International Human Rights Law
  • University of Southampton: MSc Gerontology
  • University of St Andrews: MSc Sustainable Aquaculture
  • University of Stirling: MSc Dementia Studies (available to applicants from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka only)
  • University of Strathclyde
    • MSc Finance (available to applicants from Tanzania only)
    • LLM Information Technology and Telecommunications Law
    • LLM Internet Law and Policy

You may want to see the list of previous supported courses.

Number of awards
Not specified by provider.

Depending on the number of applications, the selection committee decides on the number of scholarships to be allocated to each course after ALL eligible Expressions of Interest from course providers (i.e. universities) have been received and considered.

Sponsorship duration
Complete duration of the program

Scholarship benefits
Covers overseas tuition fees at Master’s degree-level for citizens of a developing Commonwealth country

Method of Application
Full details of the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution.

Expressions of Interest may be submitted by UK universities only. The CSC expects all Expressions of Interest to be submitted with the approval of the university and they should therefore be submitted by an appointed member of staff.

After submission of Expressions of Interest:
The CSC expects all candidates being considered for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship to have completed an application form using the Electronic Application System (EAS). Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in the CSC guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below)  for complete information on this scholarship and its application procedure.

The closing date for Expressions of Interest for 2015/16 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships is 15 May 2015 at 23.59GMT.

The selection committee will consider all eligible Expressions of Interest and will also decide on the number of scholarships to be allocated to each course.

Additional requirements:
The CSC may require candidates to undertake the academic IELTS English language test as a condition of eligibility. Candidates should check with the UK institution/provider whether this requirement applies to them.

It is the candidate’s responsibility to note that IELTS tests will only be considered valid if taken within a stipulated time period.le.

Application Deadline: 15 May 2015
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Read More:  Commonwealth Scholarships